National Cricket League T20 - NCL T20 event launches today

National Cricket League T20- Tamim Iqbal, Ashraful

NCL T20 event launches today


Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) ended all formalities to introduce newly inducted franchise-based National Cricket League (NCL) Twenty20 Cricket tournament with a spectacular ceremony at Dhaka Sheraton Hotel today.
The Twenty20 version of the country's lone first class cricket tournament NCL will be held for the first time when the six franchises rolled to the field from April 11.
The champion of the tournament will get the opportunity to take part in the ICC Twenty20 Cricket Championship tournament. BCB's marketing agent ATN Records itself emerged as franchise having bought the Khulna Division.

Presentation of Model cheerleaders girl during luanch of NCL T20 2010

On the other hand, the BCB's tournament committee finalised the list of iconic players but there were some problems in the procedure to distribute the iconic players in each division.
The tournament committee picked up one mega icon and three icon players for each franchise. As a result some noted icon player's division had to be changed to make sure the equal distribution of the players. Despite Nazimuddin belongs to Chittagong Division, the tournament committee shifted him to Barisal Division. The same case happened with the other two icons Jahirul Islam Omee and Mosharraf Hossain Rubel. Dhaka's spin all-rounder Mosharaf Hossain Rubel's new address is now Sylhet Division while Rajshahi's opener Omee's new home will be Dhaka Division.
However there was no problem to pick up the mega icon players for each franchise. As Mashrafe withdrew him from the icon players' list Shakib has been named as mega icon for Khulna. Naeem Islam on the other hand was the mega icon of Rajshahi after Mushfiqur Rahim pulled out his name from the NCL Twenty20 due to his academic commitment. The three icons of this division - -Abdur Razzak Raj, Imrul Kayes and Dollar Mahmud.
Mahmud Ashraful is the mega icon of Dhaka as Mahmudullah Ryad's participation in the tournament also was in suspicion. Ryad will be busy with his academic examination as well during the tournament. But despite that he is still in the 24-member icon players category. Alongside Ashraful and Ryad the other two icons are Mahbubul Alam Robin and Jahirul Islam Omee.
Tamim Iqbal has no contender to be the mega icon of Chittagong along with the three icons - - Aftab Ahmed, Rubel Hossain and Faisal Hossain Decense. Alok Kapali and Shahriar Nafess were named as the mega icon of Sylhet and Barisal Division respectively. Farhad Reza, Nazmul Hossain and Mosharraf Hossain Rubel are the three icons of Sylhet while Roqibul Hassan, Nazimuddin and Ziaur Rahman are the icons of Barisal.
Excluding the icon players, the tournament committee released 119-member players pool as well with tagging them four different grades.
The mega icon players under the A+ Grade, will be sold for Tk 4 lakh each while A Grade players will go at Tk 3 lakh each, B Grade players will be sold at Tk 2 lakh each, C Grade at Tk 1.5 lakh each and D Grade players at Tk 1 lakh each to the teams, who have all received a list of 125 cricketers from the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB).
Each team would have to pick minimum 14 local players (including Icon Players) from the "Players' Pool". The teams can register the free players (the unpicked players of the Players' Pool) later on by written application. After formation of teams no player (Including Icon Players) will be allowed to change teams
It is known that the cricket apex body would have no reservation to make it more colourful with spending huge amount and they the tournament's inauguration will come with an awestruck aquatic and laser show


  © Copyright @ Live Online World Cricket 2008

Back to TOP