Ctg Abahani Buys Tamim For Tk 7.7 Lakh Per Match- Port City Cricket League (PCL)- News- 2009-15

Ctg Abahani Buys Tamim For Tk 7.7 Lakh Per Match

National opener Tamim Iqbal has been surprisingly sold for Tk 7.7 lakh per match in the new Port City League (PCL) auction to Chittagong Abahani Limited on Saturday.

Like the Indian Premier Cricket League (IPL) auction, as many as 48 cricketers were up for auction at the Chittagong Club where eight participating sides took part for their expected players for the PCL, beginning on May 2 at the MA Aziz Stadium.

Eight teams, split into two groups, will play in the Twenty20 matches and top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals.

If Abahani play in the final, the team have to pay Tk 38.5 lakh to the left-handed opener for five matches.

"I am surprised after being sold for such amount of money," Tamim said in his immediate reaction.

"Yes, I was hurt after not seeing myself in IPL auction, but I never thought that the people of Chittagong would erase my pain in such way," said the local lad.

Tamim and left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak were kept in A plus category where the base price for each match was Tk 30,000. However, Razzak went for Tk 1.1 lakh to Brothers Union.

Left-arm spinner Suhrawardi Shuvo was just behind Tamim at Tk 1.7 lakh per match to Pirates of Chittagong while Dada Warriors paid Tk 1.31 lakh for national team opener Junaed Siddique.

Dada Warriors also bought Arafat Sunny League, for Tk 75,000 per match while Ilias Sunny went to Noakhali's Top Sports for the same amount. Both players were the top performers of the Dhaka Premier Cricket League.

National discard Javed Omar was one of the lowest-priced cricketers as the veteran opener was sold at his base price money of Tk 8,000 to Chittagong Mohammedan.

The national players who were sold to different teams are : Tamim Iqbal (Ctg Abahani – Tk 7.7 lakh), Abdur Razzak (Brothers Union – Tk 1.1 lakh), Imrul Kayes (Ctg Mohammedan - Tk 68,000), Junaed Siddique (Dada Warriors – Tk 1.31 lakh), Mehrab Hossain – Brothers Union – Tk 68,000), Roqibul Hasan (Top Sports – Tk 60,000), Shahadat Hossain (Dhaka Sports Club – Tk 30,000), Mushfiqur Rahim (Ispahani – Tk 26,000), Syed Rasel (Abahani – Tk 20,000), Nazmul Hossain (Dhaka Sports – Tk 20,000), Mahmudul Riad (Top Sports – Tk 29,000), Naeem Islam (Pirates of Chittagong – Tk 70,000), Mahbubul Alam Robin (Ispahani – Tk 20,000), Rubel Hossain (Dada Warriors – Tk 20,000), Sajidul Islam (Mohammedan – Tk 20,000) and Suhrawardi Shuvo (Pirates of Chittagong – Tk 1.7 lakh).

Source: bdnews24.com


  © Copyright @ Live Online World Cricket 2008

Back to TOP